2015 James Beard Awards

Seyine Park

The James Beard Foundation finalists of 2015 have just been announced, recognizing and celebrating talents in a variety of categories.

While the Book, Broadcast and Journalism Award winners will be announced on April 24, the official winners of the restaurant and chef awards will be announced on Monday, May 4th, at the Lyric Opera House of Chicago. And the nominees are…

Best New Restaurant
Presented by True Refrigeration®

Bâtard, New York
Central Provisions, Portland, Me.
Cosme, New York
Parachute, Chicago
Petit Trois, Los Angeles
The Progress, San Francisco
Spoon and Stable, Minneapolis

Outstanding Baker

Joanne Chang, Flour Bakery & Cafe, Boston
Mark Furstenberg, Bread Furst, Washington
Jim Lahey, Sullivan Street Bakery, New York
Belinda Leong and Michel Suas, B. Patisserie, San Francisco
William Werner, Craftsman and Wolves, San Francisco

Outstanding Bar Program

Arnaud’s French 75 Bar, New Orleans
Bar Agricole, San Francisco
Maison Premiere, Brooklyn
Trick Dog, San Francisco
The Violet Hour, Chicago

Outstanding Chef

Michael Anthony, Gramercy Tavern, New York
Sean Brock, Husk, Charleston, S.C.
Suzanne Goin, Lucques, Los Angeles
Donald Link, Herbsaint, New Orleans
Marc Vetri, Vetri, Philadelphia

Outstanding Pastry Chef

Dana Cree, Blackbird, Chicago
Maura Kilpatrick, Oleana, Cambridge, Mass.
Dahlia Narvaez, Osteria Mozza, Los Angeles
Ghaya Oliveira, Daniel, New York
Christina Tosi, Momofuku, New York

Outstanding Restaurant

Blue Hill at Stone Barns, Pocantico Hills, N.Y.
Highlands Bar and Grill, Birmingham, Ala.
Momofuku Noodle Bar, New York
Per Se, New York
The Spotted Pig, New York

Outstanding Restaurateur

JoAnn Clevenger, Upperline, New Orleans
Donnie Madia, One Off Hospitality Group, Chicago (Blackbird, Avec, the Publican and others)
Michael Mina, Mina Group, San Francisco (Michael Mina, RN74, Bourbon Steak and others)
Cindy Pawlcyn, Napa, Calif. (Mustards Grill, Cindy’s Back Street Kitchen and Cindy’s Waterfront at the Monterey Bay Aquarium)
Stephen Starr, Starr Restaurants, Philadelphia (the Dandelion, Talula’s Garden, Serpico and others)

Outstanding Service

The Barn at Blackberry Farm, Walland, Tenn.
Marea, New York
Quince, San Francisco
Restaurant August, New Orleans
Topolobampo, Chicago

Outstanding Wine Program

A16, San Francisco
Bern’s Steak House, Tampa, Fla.
FIG, Charleston, S.C.
McCrady’s, Charleston, S.C.
Spago, Beverly Hills, Calif.

Outstanding Wine, Beer or Spirits Professional

Sam Calagione, Dogfish Head Craft Brewery, Milton, Del.
Ron Cooper, Del Maguey Single Village Mezcal, Ranchos de Taos, N.M.
Ted Lemon, Littorai Wines, Sebastopol, Calif.
Rajat Parr, Mina Group, San Francisco
Harlen Wheatley, Buffalo Trace Distillery, Frankfort, Ky.

Rising Star Chef of the Year

Tanya Baker, Boarding House, Chicago
Alex Bois, High Street on Market, Philadelphia
Erik Bruner-Yang, Toki Underground, Washington
Jessica Largey, Manresa, Los Gatos, Calif.
Cara Stadler, Tao Yuan, Brunswick, Me.
Ari Taymor, Alma, Los Angeles

Best Chef: Great Lakes

Curtis Duffy, Grace, Chicago
Jonathon Sawyer, The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland
Paul Virant, Vie, Western Springs, Ill.
Erling Wu-Bower, Nico Osteria, Chicago
Andrew Zimmerman, Sepia, Chicago

Best Chef: Mid-Atlantic

Joe Cicala, Le Virtù, Philadelphia
Spike Gjerde, Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore
Rich Landau, Vedge, Philadelphia
Greg Vernick, Vernick Food & Drink, Philadelphia
Cindy Wolf, Charleston, Baltimore

Best Chef: Midwest

Paul Berglund, The Bachelor Farmer, Minneapolis
Justin Carlisle, Ardent, Milwaukee
Gerard Craft, Niche, Clayton, Mo.
Michelle Gayer, Salty Tart, Minneapolis
Lenny Russo, Heartland Restaurant & Farm Direct Market, St. Paul

Best Chef: Northeast

Karen Akunowicz, Myers & Chang, Boston
Barry Maiden, Hungry Mother, Cambridge, Mass.
Masa Miyake, Miyake, Portland, Me.
Cassie Piuma, Sarma, Somerville, Mass.
Andrew Taylor and Mike Wiley, Eventide Oyster Co., Portland, Me.

Best Chef: Northwest

Greg Denton and Gabrielle Quiñónez Denton, Ox, Portland, Ore.
Renee Erickson, The Whale Wins, Seattle
Blaine Wetzel, The Willows Inn on Lummi Island, Lummi Island, Wash.
Justin Woodward, Castagna, Portland, Ore.
Rachel Yang and Seif Chirchi, Joule, Seattle

Best Chef: New York

Marco Canora, Hearth
Mario Carbone and Rich Torrisi, Carbone
Mark Ladner, Del Posto
Anita Lo, Annisa
Ignacio Mattos, Estela
Jonathan Waxman, Barbuto

Best Chef: South

Vishwesh Bhatt, Snackbar, Oxford, Miss.
Justin Devillier, La Petite Grocery, New Orleans
Jose Enrique, Jose Enrique, San Juan, P.R.
Slade Rushing, Brennan’s, New Orleans
Alon Shaya, Domenica, New Orleans

Best Chef: Southeast

John Fleer, Rhubarb, Asheville, N.C.
Edward Lee, 610 Magnolia, Louisville, Ky.
Steven Satterfield, Miller Union, Atlanta
Jason Stanhope, FIG, Charleston, S.C.
Andrew Ticer and Michael Hudman, Andrew Michael Italian Kitchen, Memphis
Tandy Wilson, City House, Nashville

Best Chef: Southwest

Kevin Binkley, Binkley’s, Cave Creek, Ariz.
Aaron Franklin, Franklin Barbecue, Austin, Tex.
Bryce Gilmore, Barley Swine, Austin, Tex.
Hugo Ortega, Hugo’s, Houston
Martín Rios, Restaurant Martín, Santa Fe, N.M.
Justin Yu, Oxheart, Houston

Best Chef: West

Matthew Accarrino, SPQR, San Francisco
Stuart Brioza and Nicole Krasinski, State Bird Provisions, San Francisco
Michael Cimarusti, Providence, Los Angeles
Corey Lee, Benu, San Francisco
Jon Shook and Vinny Dotolo, Animal, Los Angeles

2015 James Beard Foundation America’s Classics

Archie’s Waeside, Le Mars, Iowa
Beaumont Inn, Harrodsburg, Ky.
Guelaguetza, Los Angeles
Sally Bell’s Kitchen, Richmond, Va.
Sevilla Restaurant, New York

The full list of nominees for all categories can be seen on the James Beard Foundation website.